A Photographers & Visitors Guide & Timeless Stories

Falconry at Leeds Castle

17 pics.  A Harris Hawk waits pensively for the launch signal.  That beak means business.  You can click twice for a better view.
Harris Hawk 2 at Leeds Castle

“Ain’t I awesome”.
Harris Hawk Swooping at Leeds Castle

The trainer sends a morsel into the air using an elastic catapult.   A little to the right of the hawk is a distant seagull and just below is the morsel.  The hawk now has folded wings for the dive.Falconry 2 at Leeeds Castle

And the flyby with trophy.
Eating Harris Hawk at Leeds Castle

“Nothing to see here, move along now.  Ahh, with fava beans and a nice bottle of Chianti”.
Harris Hawk Flying at Leeds Castle

A victory lap.
Flying Harris Hawk at Leeds Castle

.
Perched Harris Hawk at Leeds Castle

“I’m firm but fair and you will applaud”.  And they did.

The owl, the trainer said, had a short attention span and was easily distracted.  He also said they were “thick”.
Tufted Owl at Leeds Castle

“He said what”.
Tufted Owl Close Up at Leeds Castle

.
Flying Owl at Leeds Castle

“Right, I’ll have your scraggles off”.
Falconry at Leed Castle

“I am, in fact, wise and dignified and I’ll murgle anyone who says otherwise”.
Owl at Leeds Castle

.Seaugull at Leeds Castle

Meanwhile, several gulls were scriking and showing off by making feint dives at the hawks.  But, they carefully kept their distance.  The hawks disdained any interest.   After all, one does not converse with one’s food.

This little miss is a North American Kestrel weighing in at a mere 4 ounces.    She was so fast on the wing, that the only photographs I have, are where she used to be.   Even the gulls were bemused and kept their distance.

.

Falcons, we are informed, will only fly free and return if they are happy with their conditions.  They also live twice as long as in the wild. So, everybody’s happy.  Yay . 🙂

There are more falcons including an amazing peregrine here.

Tweet and thanks for the visit.

20 responses

  1. That is an amazing photo of the hawk tumbling toward the morsel.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 25, 2015 at 19:10

    • Thanks. Got to say, more by luck than judgement. As for that kestrel, I wouldn’t like to play tag with her. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      September 25, 2015 at 19:45

  2. Gorgeous birds. Great pics.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 25, 2015 at 19:37

  3. Great photos – the birds in flight photos are spectacular! ❤
    Diana xo

    Liked by 1 person

    September 26, 2015 at 04:29

    • I am glad you enjoyed. I wish you could have seen that kestrel fly. So fast that when it changed direction it disappeared from sight.

      Liked by 1 person

      September 26, 2015 at 15:36

  4. Amazing pictures! Lovely colours on the kestrel.

    Like

    September 27, 2015 at 13:09

    • Thank you. If I get another chance and can turn my head like an owl, I’ll try and catch one in flight. 😀

      Like

      September 27, 2015 at 15:47

  5. Stunning photos… I love birds, but falcons are one of the more majestic looking birds 🙂

    Like

    September 29, 2015 at 10:59

    • Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed. The falcons were most earnest in their endeavours. Real performers. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      September 29, 2015 at 11:47

  6. I decided that I really liked the word Murgle, but I wanted a definition so moseyed on down to Urban Dictionary, which was the font of many explanations, my favourite being: “The sound or act of a phlegm filled cat purring.” You learn a new thing every day…

    Like

    January 14, 2016 at 22:33

    • Yeuch. I didn’t know it was a real word. It emerged with the thought of being a Victorian style gruesome murdering. 😀

      Like

      January 15, 2016 at 00:00

      • That’s the kind of idea that came to my mind when I first read it, but apparently there are many, many interpretations…

        Liked by 1 person

        January 17, 2016 at 12:01

  7. The photos of the owls in particular are fantastic!!

    Like

    June 22, 2017 at 19:30

♪ Your Comments are Welcome Feedback ♪

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.